Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice?

Nowadays, many children consume their leisure time through watching TV and almost invest this activity whole day long. Nevertheless, there are two benefits and drawbacks of this habit for them. First of all, it could increase their hard and soft skills by watching an educated series or movie. For instance, when they look at the animal documentary, it will enhance their knowledge related to the species, biology, etc. Further, watching TV is an positive hobby if their parents can give some jobs to them. For example, they must be appointed to make a summary in writing after watching their favorite films and acted as a story teller to their parents. Therefore, watching TV has a beneficial to them in spending their free time. On the other hand, watching TV has a negative impact because some children will be influenced by looking at unpleasant movie's character. If the cast has a role as a princess, some children have an imagination to be a princess in their real life. Besides that, it will be addicted and they will ignore the activity in real life. For instance, they will not devote their leisure time by playing with their friends in playground or hang out in outdoor actvity such as participate the football competition. Hence, too much watching TV will damage their mindfullness in real life. In conclusion, despite of some welfare by watching TV for children, the harm should be considered for this practice. However, I believe that the advantage of watching TV can overcome the disadvantage for children as long as it is under control and shoud be guided by their parents.