Public transportation systems can play a crucial role in a city’s infrastructure. What are the advantages and disadvantages of investing in public transportation?

Nowadays, public transport can represent a relevant element in urban logistics strategies. The purpose of this essay is to present the pros and cons of these transportation solutions, mainly associated with their practicality and their costs, respectively. On the one hand, one significant advantage of state-owned transportation systems is that they are accessible and practical for citizens. This is because their fares are usually cheap, allowing an affordable way of locomotion for low-income commuters. Additionally, in big cities, they connect distinct means of commuting systems available, providing faster and easier travel throughout neighbourhoods, in many cases, in a safe and comfortable way. For instance, Tokyo's public transportation network, which includes railways, buses and subways, interconnects distant points across this metropolis, with a fare lower than five American dollars for each travel. On the other hand, public commuting systems require a cost and time-demanding implementation, which is supported by local governments, which is a disadvantage to be considered. Since governmental funding is mandatory for their construction, and due to several interventions required to implant a public transportation system, such as railway assembly or traffic detours, these developments are normally pricey. Furthermore, the resources destined for these kinds of projects could be invested in other pressing issues, like education development and lack of housing. To mention, Rio de Janeiro's westbound subway has taken more than ten years to be concluded, and its final cost was four times higher than its initial figure. To sum up, public commuting systems are vital in urban areas, and, despite their drawbacks related to their implementation, their benefits are significant to the population, especially because its affordability and practicality.