It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. Some people think this will lead to a breakdown in family relationships and communication. To what extent do you agree?

Technology has fast become a part of every household across the world - whether in the form of laptops or desktops to work from home, tablets and kindles to read any kind of book with ease, or phones with bluetooth that connects to every Alexa speaker in the house. Each gadget comes out with a new and improved version every year, soliciting greater access to premium features that lure in thousands of children, students and elders alike. It is widely regarded that people in first world countries should be keeping up with the latest tech, and that each person in a nuclear family unit should have their own piece of technology. I strongly believe this notion could lead to miscommunication, distrust and avoidance of actual time spent together as a family and that all parents should strongly consider waiting until kids are older to have their own Iphone or Macbook. As a child, I vividly remember receiving my first Motorola flip phone - it could only text and had absolutely no means of connecting to the Internet. I was given strict instructions that it was only to be used for emergencies when mom and dad couldn't pick me up from dance class or needed something urgent from the store. This cell was handed back as soon as I stepped inside my home and I was not allowed to have it back until I was on my way to school. At the time, it seemed a bit extreme, however it is now clear why they made such a fuss - as I have incredible memories of us watching movies all together on the sofa in the evenings, discussing our days over the dinner table and playing board games with pizza as a snack. I cherish these memories and realise now as an adult how important quality time is with our loved ones before they are gone. I also see the toll the internet and personal devices have taken on students in my classroom. As a secondary school teacher, our classrooms are ripe with the buzz of a text message, the sound of a song accidentally playing off Spotify or a call ringing out over my lesson and distracting the entire student population. This happens frequently and has led to a whole school policy against any type of handheld piece that can be brought in a backpack. Since this policy has been put in place, we have had more piece of mind that we can get through a class without a student recording our every move, Snapchatting their friends or using Instagram to DM their mates. Overall, it is clear that our day to day lives will be fully run by tech in the future - but the love and happiness I feel for my family was laid by a foundation of quality hour in the presence of great people whom I look up to. I hope that kids understand the importance of being around those who have so willingly raised them and don't squander an opportunity to be present at home instead of jamming out to the radio or phoning a buddy.