1.Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Nowadays people have different perspectives about the availability of free public transportation in urban areas like Jakarta, Surabaya, and Jogjakarta. This essay will suggest that free government facilities to reduce traffic and support workers to commute are the biggest advantages of this, but higher taxes and people walking longer than usual to use are the primary disadvantages.   On the one hand, the government is obliged to facilitate their citizen with good infrastructures, such as good public transportation that has subsidies tickets or even free to use. Most of the big city's problem is traffic, due to many private cars and motorcycles that are congested on the main road when it comes to work or school hours. When regulators can make the tickets for public transportation free, many people will shift from to public transportation. It can benefit many aspects, reducing traffic jams and reducing pollution. In addition, free tickets will support many workers who work and live in different cities. For example, many employees who work in Jakarta while living in satellite cities like Bekasi, Bogor, and Tangerang need to commute from dawn and back until late at night. On the other hand, having good infrastructure and public transportation requires much income and funds, and subsidies for free tickets can heavy the government burden. The consequence is a citizens should pay a higher tax to get free transportation services. Furthermore, while using public transportation we could walk longer than usual because the location may not be close to our building or school, and to migrate from one bus to another bus needs to take much effort, it can be dangerous for the people who might not have the capability to do that, for example, the elderly, pregnant woman and children.   In conclusion, free public transportation is a government facility to support workers to commute and can help to decrease traffic are the advantages. However, for the sake of reaching and using public transportation people should pay higher taxes and might walk longer.