Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many parents and schools can see the benefits of using smartphones to support children ’s learning process. However, introducing such development to children leads to them using it on a daily basis. In my view, this should be perceived as a negative development since smartphones can affect on the children ’s cognitive development as well as their physical well-being. Firstly, it will reduce children ’s attention span. This is because almost all of the entertainment content in social media is frequently produced creatively in form of short videos. For example, the videos on Tikok or Instagram are truly engaging with millions of options to see. In that way, by watching to it repeatedly every day can badly influence childrens’ attention as they are more indulged to seeing short-term information which as a result make them find it hard to read longer informations especially without any interesting graphic decorations. Secondly, the bad impact from overusing smartphones can also be seen physically. Every digital devices, including smartphones, contains high exposure of radiation rays which can seriously affect our eyes to suffer from near-sigthtnessed. Although it is a common disease to everyone, but by allowing children to get much exposure from radiation will higher the chance to rely on optical eye-glasses in an early age. To conclude, I strongly believe that these reasons outweigh the advantages of the smartphones usage to children. Not only that smartphones hinder the crucial part during cognitive development by reducing the attention span, yet children ’s eyesight will definitely be affected by radiation rays. To tackle this, the role of parents as the closest family members is somewhat crucial in setting boundaries regarding daily digital usage to their children.