Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Since a couple of years ago, many debates around categorizing students based on their academic abilities have been sparked. Some argue smart students and those who have great marks must not educate with others including ordinary ones. However, others including me concur that putting students with different abilities could have numerous benefits. As for its downsides, it is regarded that studying with less smart students can impact the function of those who have razor-sharp minds negatively. In more detail, youngsters spend most of their time at school and with their friends; so they may be encouraged to act as their friends. For example, students may prefer to play online games as their friends who do not study at all, resulting in lower marks after a while. Also, studying with smart students may put others under pressure; that is because teachers mostly pay attention to great students and compare others with them, influencing the others mood and increasing their anxiety. On the other hand, creating good balance in schools can highly boost the students ’ motivation. Hence, students with lower performances decide on progressive individuals as their role models and they strive with the aim of gaining better marks than others. For instance, in some schools, teachers put students with various levels of ability in a group to do team work with the aim of encouraging them to do their work share and learn from each other which is highly beneficial to learn better as children have close connection together and try to be like them. In conclusion, although putting all the students in a school regardless of their academic skills poses some problems, I suppose its merits outweigh the disadvantages.