Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites are thought to be a negative influence for its users. I partially agree to this proposal not because the sites themselves, but because there are devils residing on the peripheral. Social networking sites, or more commonly denoted as social media, are relatively new platforms in the history of our communication means. Never before has a platform not only allows a vis-à-vis exchanges, but also aggregates and addresses them as virtual communities. Members can post contents on their whim, and anyone has the option to opt-in (usually by subscriptions such as following or befriending). As a result, we are presented with a miniature of a public square, albeit without a degree of transparency fundamentally required for responsible behaviors (think of keyboard warriors, trolling, and vitriolic berating/ranting). We might rarely talk about how these platforms have been life-changing because we simply adopt them. For instance, we could remain connected, productive, all while overcoming a catastrophic that is the pandemic. In contrast, the negative repercussions become incipient. Consequently, social media, in my opinion, is much more fitting to be regarded as a mirror; the problem lies not in the platform, but on the users. I would argue that even without social media, we would stumble on another issue with the same patterns; we can think of divide and conflict on a larger scale, but proclivity for bad exposure for individuals. Imagine an analogy of tools: knives and swords were invented to cut through materials unfit for human hands, but it has been used to harm and satisfy egoistic needs. There is no better alternative than dismissing malevolent intents, for they are always the shadow of atrocities found online. All in all, I think mankind is always adapting and recuperating from resources and tools available to them. Outburst of attentions have always been shed upon radical inventions of human history. It’s sufficient to say we are in a ceaseless journey to fare better in life, especially when technology has invaded our conception of it.