Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

As the work industry changed over the years, numerous workers are employing themselves instead of working for a corporation or institution. This essay will delve into the reasons why people choose to make this life-changing decision and assess the drawbacks of the phenomenon. First of all, many workplaces dismiss their role in catering to their employees' well-being, which may lead to stress, unhealthy competition, and eventually, resignations. Therefore, individuals may opt to take on the challenge of working by themselves as it offers flexibility in time and energy. For instance, they can determine when to commence and cease to work as well as what tasks they want to do for the day without having to meet the demands of their counterparts. That being said, one may feel empowered when they are given the ability to make a living by their own rules. Despite the tempting benefits of self-employment, it also comes with downsides, such as the lack of leisure time and heavy workloads. In some cases, being self-employed translates to having to manage, plan, and execute every task all alone. For this reason, it can be exhausting and time-consuming for one as they do not have any co-workers around to cover for their duties or shifts. Hence, the symptoms of health complications may appear and can hinder the labourer’s own career path. To sum up, the main factors of self-employment may be rooted in one’s initial workplace that dismisses employees’ welfare, causing discomfort and consideration to self-employment, which turns out to have its own setbacks, such as the undeniable fatigue caused by the heavy responsibilities. To have a balance between personal and professional duties is a must, so it is suggested for companies to respect and acknowledge their labourers’ rights.