Some people believe that watching TV is bad for children, while others claim it has positive effects for children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is widely claimed that watching TV is beneficial for children when they become adults, some argue that TV is bad for offspring. Both points of view and the reason why I believe that TV has more positive effects than negative will be elaborated on this essay. To begin with, it might seem sensible for some to believe that TV consumption is bad for children. This is possibly because there is some inappropriate content on TV, for instance, in action films, there is violent behaviour such as fighting, shooting, or robbing, and kids who consume that content can imitate those which is not good for society at large. On the other hand, opponents of this idea might propose that there are positive effects on TV. To put in other words, educational programs on TV can supply learning materials for children, for example, they can learn English through English language cartoons, certain shows can enhance creativity and imagination, and exposure to different cultures. Personally, I would argue in favour of positive effects, because when I was young, I learned the English language via cartoons on a cartoon network channel, and this is a fun way to learn, unlike learning at school. In school, kids might find that learning new languages is hard because some teachers teach their students in a stressful way. In conclusion, althought it is undeniable that kids should not watch TV, I am of the opinion that watching TV has more positive than negative effects for a children.