It will be better to have wide use of driverless cars for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a dispute around the increasing presence of vehicles driven by artificial intelligence on our roads. I cannot support this idea. This technology is still not well-developed enough to be safe in emergency situations, in addition, it can cause depleting demand for drivers and increased levels of unemployment in this area. Driverless cars are not a new technology since the first attempts were made in the middle of the previous century, however, massive usage of such vehicles on common roads started only a decade ago. Even though it claims to be safer than a human driver, in case of a rapid change of road situation such vehicle cannot react wise enough. One of the examples was a situation when a dog suddenly ran to the road and to prevent an incident car decided to overturn it from the right, but almost hit a dog owner who was following the dog, as a result, a person inside the car got bad injuries due to the rapid emergency stop. Furthermore, self-driving cars have a huge perspective to be used in taxi services. This is a convenient option for customers, but at the same time, it can make redundant a number of taxi drivers. Although, it is not a problem for young individuals to get a new job, for senior drivers it may lead to unemployment as they don't have other skills. For example, the introduction of driverless metro trains in Sydney caused a round of lay-offs for train drivers and was detrimental to their lifestyle, their families, and the community at large. In conclusion, some people believe that more self-driving cars can be beneficial for people and society. But I should disagree that this is a good idea so far, as this technology is not ready to be widely used on common roads and also may cause a crisis in the taxi driving industry.