In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

There has been a global anticipation for people’s age to increase. This may pose a challenge for individuals and the population as a whole, hence several solutions must be provided to lower the effects of the ageing society. There are several problems that may occur for an elderly. As an individual, they could struggle to find a job due to the existence of an age restriction for a working employee based on a company’s policy. Thus they would have to ask their kids or someone they know for money. Dealing with loneliness may be an emotionally challenging task to do as well because as they age, they might have experienced the passing of their friends and family members. Furthermore, they have to face technological advancements, which can seem out of the ordinary for them. For instance, they could get confused and unaware of phone updates, hindering them to use their electronic device functionally for a call or a text. Another example would be adapting to the machines replacing human jobs seen in restaurants or grocery stores as cashiers. However, we can deal with those struggles by providing them a job that is not physically demanding or opening up a job field that allows them to continue working without restricting them of an age limit. We can also provide them with facilities that is better catered to them, such as a nursing home, or implement elderly-friendly services so they are able to deal with grief and help them search for coping mechanisms. Other than that, we can provide them a weekly educational session surrounding technology so they can gain more knowledge and adapt to the current world condition. In conclusion, an ageing population may struggle financially, physically, and mentally, which can impose detrimental effects on themselves or to those around them. By facilitating them with the right education and services, it could take some burden regarding living in society off their shoulders.