Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely debated that offering education and vocational training for lawbreakers is a better and more realistic solution rather than letting them receive prison sentences. From my perspective, while I agree that education is a possible way to tackle this issue, I strongly believe that individuals who break the law must receive more severe punishment by being sent to jail. On the one hand, it is tangible that providing ways involved in education in order to broaden the offenders’ minds plays an indispensable role in assisting criminals in rehabilitating the community as usual. Initially, among lawbreakers, there are multiple dwellers, who engage in criminal activities as a way of earning a living. This can be explained that they have to suffer from poverty and unemployment for a long period. As a result, they have to break the law by minor crimes namely shoplifting or pickpocketing in order to overcome the adversities in daily life. Consequently, these are educable citizens, and authorities ought to support them in daily life by providing free accommodation, and an occupation in order that they can make a living and avoid reoffending. Secondly, since there are multiple inhabitants who commit serious crimes such as robbery or murder, the violent environment in jails potentially causes serious mental issues among criminals. The result of this trend is that they have a tendency to commit an offense again. As a consequence, education and vocational training are possible ways to help them escape from negative thinking in the future. In contrast, I strongly believe that prisons are the best place to educate offenders, as jails have already existed for thousands of years. First of all, sending dwellers who break the laws behind bars will prevent them from posing a severe threat to society. Hence, it is able to create a peaceful and secure society for all dwellers, and they will not have to be worried about multiple crimes namely robbery, kidnapping, and murder invading in public. In addition, it will support the community in developing a sense of safety and security as all criminals are taken into jails. Finally, offenders will learn multiple valuable lessons related to freedom, since they lost it after committing a crime. Therefore, after being released from prison, they will not have the capability to re-offend and follow the rules since they are afraid of losing their freedom again. In conclusion, from aforementioned viewpoints, I believe that although training and education play a vital role in helping the criminals, prisons are the most suitable place for them as they will learn different lessons while staying there.