Genetic engineering and modification techniques are becoming more advanced, raising ethical questions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of genetic modification?

There is a rising number of questions about the ethical side of advanced techniques in gene modification. The main benefits of this advancement are to help cure peoples’ illnesses and to create plants that have excellent traits. However, there are some drawbacks which are prone to be used to do malicious actions and selecting only superior genes in humans to create a perfect human being. Modifying genes allows scientists to find a way to eliminate harmful genetic codes to cure ailments. Some physical impairments can be detected early from the DNA strains. The sequence of genes that cause negative effects on the body can be modified by eliminating those genes. Therefore people can have healthy bodies and lead happy lives. In addition, scientists now can create plants with better characteristics by adding some genetic sequences that carry the preferred features. For example, experts can modify the chlorophyll in a plant to react faster to light stimulants. Thus they can produce more oxygen than the regular plant which eventually benefits the environment. However, this practice has some negative effects such as irresponsible people utilising this technology to do malicious actions. If professionals can insert the good characteristics of creatures for the goodness of the public, it means they can add negative features that have detrimental effects on the human body. For instance, modifying a harmful virus to be more infectious and it can spread faster among people. Moreover, this technology can modify individuals’ traits that violate nature. Such as creating an army by selecting only the superior genetic traits. In conclusion, the advancement of technology in genetic modification allows peoples’ ailments to be cured by modifying the DNA strains and developing plants that have better functions. Nevertheless, this is vulnerable to being violated by irresponsible parties such as utilizing it to spread the virus and breaking the sacred creation of humans.