STUDIES SHOW THAT CRIME RATE ARE LOWER AMONG THOSE WITH EDUCATION DEGREES. THEREFORE, THE BEST WAY TO REDUCE THE CRIME RATE IS TO EDUCATE CRIMINALS WHILE THEY ARE STILL IN PRISON. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

To a large extent that I agree with the statement of educating criminals in prison for prevent the crime rate from increasing. The reasons are as follows: Firstly, education allows job opportunities. There are numerous of crimes happened because the criminals have to commit the crimes for the sake of their livelihood. For example, there are higher chance for the unemployed people to commit crimes becuase they are forced to steal in the interest of themselves and their families. By introducing education in prisons, the prisoners can access to new skills and knowledge, which allows them to equip themselves for the job hunting. Meanwhile, they may find new passions when they acknowledge new field of knowledge, so they can be passionate in developing new sets of skills for the sake of their future. Secondly, education can strengthen their interpersonal relationships. Since they can learn with their peers and teachers, thus establishing trustful relationships. Throughout the learning process, they can learn how to communicate and work with other peers. Not only will they learn how to be empathic towards people, but also they can be more confident in cultivating harmonic relationships with different people in the society. However, some may argue that education is not effective, as a majority of prisoners who have already lost their interests in learning. I firmly believe that academic performance is not the only way to relect select a person's potential. There are uncountable fields of knowledge and techniques that are not obtainable in the local schools. For example, gaming entertainment industries have been thriving in recent years, people who loves video games can play professionally and secure their living. Therefore, education is a key to allow people to find out their interests so they can believe in their own abilities to make a living by themselves. All in all, it is my unshakable belief that education can effectively reduce the crime rate. It is because education can provide the prisoners hope that they can enter the society with sufficient knowledge and soft skills for developing interpersonal skills, so it is not neccessory for them to commit crimes anymore.