Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, some people argue that publicizing is beneficial for people to purchase goods. Others say that, publicizing is useless and people do not often pay attention to it. In this essay, I will analytically discuss both these views and come up with my own opinion. Firstly, advertising is one of the crucial and effective methods to promote commodities within the society. People find this very convenient to get to know about the new products, offers and also they have the opportunity to compare different products in terms of their price and quality. In the end, consumers will be able to buy affordable and high-quality products. Through marketing, it has been possible for companies to increase their sales significantly. For instance, research conducted by the University of California revealed that, the revenue generation of protein powder which was produced for the young generation, rose dramatically by 30% after the company initiated commercial advertising. Because people were not aware of the product until it was advertised. Secondly, it is crystal clear that today’s people are well educated and they are well aware of what they actually need. So, usually, they are not inspired by commercials regarding new products or services. Due to the economic recession of the countries, people are restricted to buy the products that are worth buying, even companies advertise items in a competitive manner. For example, one of the World’s most famous perfume brands launched its latest perfume recently with massive promotion on social media and television. However, their annual report revealed that, the sales of the perfume were unable to cover up at least the advertising cost. That incident gives us a clear idea that people persuade the needs rather than wants. Furthermore, advertising a product by spending a huge amount of money becomes useless, if the product is not a primary requirement of the people. In conclusion, the marketing of commodities or services has both sides. However, in my point of view, people at present always search for products with maximum benefits to the price. If a product seems affordable and useful, consumers tend to buy it even if it is advertised or not.