High school and university students should be required to complete a certain number of volunteer hours before graduating. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate over whether high schoolers and university students should participate in volunteer work during their studies in order to graduate. In my opinion, volunteering is very crucial for them because it provides a sense of community and develops interpersonal skills. First of all, volunteering for students gives them a sense of community as they practice the notion of giving rather than only taking. By participating in any volunteering activity, they feel their visible contribution which is a very rewarding feeling. In addition, they can participate in clubs where they sense the power of their voice and efforts in improving life conditions for others which will result in more responsible and self-aware individuals. For example, I recall volunteering for a charity called Giving for collecting and cleaning used clothes for children. I was their accountant and whenever I heard a positive story of someone benefiting from what we offer, I felt really proud and content which motivated me to volunteer more. Moreover, it helps in improving the interpersonal skills of students, such as, teamwork, communication and leadership. During volunteer work, they will engage with other volunteers to find solutions for problems or to create helpful practices that contribute positively to others. For instance, a volunteer activity could be a group project for students to build shelters for stray cats where they can divide the tasks and responsibilities to achieve the objective. This will allow them to practice problem-solving, critical thinking and teamwork. In conclusion, high school and university students must volunteer for certain hours a week before graduating because it will teach them key lessons about their contribution to their communities and the enhancement of their personal skills.