The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, the percentage of obese kids in Western nations has displayed a significant growth by approximately 20% during the last ten years. Many people think the cause may be the existence of large-scale takeaway or fast food centres, while others believe that a few physical education classes may be the major factor for children being overweight. This essay will try to outline the reasons and effects of this negative trend. To begin with, nowadays, many and many people choose fast food over homemade food due to some reasons and children from western regions are no exception. To be more clear, for instance, the kids may consume fast food because their parents work and do not have spare time to prepare something for them and as junk food contains a huge amount of fat and sugar offspring may get obese with ease. Thus, parents ' not careful attention towards their kids' healthy diet may result in obesity growth. To cite an example, my acquaintance who currently lives in Belgium suffers from being fat and his mother said that is her own fault that his son frequently eats in fast food places because she cannot manage to do that work too. Moreover, the government often neglect the importance of sports activities in educational institutes and they remove almost all sports classes from school curriculums. Saying thoroughly, schoolchildren rarely exercise which leads to the increasing percentage of obese pupils. In other words, they are deprived of doing sports where they could burn their extra weight. For example, I was approximately 50kg at the age of 8, because I hated doing private sports activities and as I seldom had physical education classes, it had a double bad impact on me. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that both the government and parents have their amount of fault for this disturbing trend among children.In terms of parents, they are not willing to find extra time and allocate it for preparing even easy-prepared meals such as rice or pasta. Lastly, with regard to the government, they find sports classes unuseful and pointless which also contributes to the obesity rate accession among youngsters.