Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. However, some people believe the opposite: countries could get food by exporting from other countries and not only depend on themselves. In my opinion, I do believe that countries should be responsible for their own food supply for the whole population and should keep import as minimum as possible. First of all, producing food supply for the whole nation is a must, since a country should be able to feed the whole population on its own. Furthermore, producing their own food supplies helps the farmers and other manufacturers inside the nation grow and will eventually benefit the economy. This argument is supported by research done by Scholars. As it was observed, most countries that prefer to consume their own country's products have more stable economic growth than others that do not. Second of all, if a country depends on importing things all the time, they can find it hard when it comes to the day that the exporter stops exporting their needs. A country that is independent has more potential to save itself from an economic crisis and will keep the money cycle in its territory balanced. According to the National Trade Union, the risks when depending on imports might result in the country's downfall as it can increase the country ’s debt. If they can’t pay, they will experience bankruptcy at any moment. In conclusion, I believe that it's better to produce food for the whole population and that they should import as little food as possible. Moreover, as I also mentioned before, it helps manufacturers inside the country grow and also helps a nation to be able to live on its own.