According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourists in the 1960s and 70s they return home with no experience of local culture. Why do you think this happens? How was tourism different in the past?

Different from the 1960s and 70s, it is a tendency nowadays that people usually go straight to their holiday destinations and choose to reside there for the length of their trip rather than spending time exploring the traditional habits of residents here. This has become a controversial topic for everyone to discuss, and from my perspective, I also declare some opinions about this phenomenon. To begin with, there are a variety of reasons why tourists do not desire to possess a new experience of resort culture. Firstly, the modern world seems to be very hustle and bustle resulting in the more hectic time that people have to deal with in their life. Therefore, they tend to make shorter travels just in order to relax and relieve stress effectively by staying in their reserved rooms and sleeping. For instance, "sleep tourism" which is a new form of travel has been very ubiquitous recently for those who want to save time and money on their trip but still want to experience new places without having to participate in sightseeing and exploration activities. Moreover, travellers are provided with different activities like swimming, gym or golfing so that they will not try to move to different places. On the other hand, tourism has exerted a dramatic transformation throughout history, becoming faster, more accessible, and more diverse than ever before. While journeys could take weeks or even months to reach remote destinations in the past, they are more accessible and convenient today thanks to cutting-edge means of transportation. For example, if citizens in ancient time had to take horse-drawn carriages to travel to another place, in today's world can use airplanes, high-speed trains or coaches to travel faster and easier. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, tourism are very different from in the past and in this day and age. Today most visitors are more likely comfortable to remain in their landing place and do not immerse themselves in other traditional cultures.