Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones are becoming something that kids spend a large chunk of their time on daily. In my opinion, this happened because smartphone is an easy source of entertainment. This essay believes that this is a negative development, because the overuse of smartphones would have negative health impacts. Smartphones are becoming an easy source of entertainment for children. With the advancement of technology, smartphones are slowly but surely becoming a big part of our daily lives. Not only used by adults, it is also used by children. Aside from the fact that it helps guardians to be able to track and communicate with their kids, it also keeps the children entertained for a long period of time. As an example, platforms like TikTok and YouTube have a large collection videos that can be enjoyed by a range of different ages, and do not forget about the vast amount of mobile games available for free. However, the prolonged use of smartphones can have negative impacts. The small size of phones makes people tend to look at the screen up close in a crouching position. If used prolongedly, this can lead to health problems such as worse vision or back pain. It also reduces the motivation for kids to play outside, because they are already content playing on their phones. A recent study shows that kids now spend the majority of their time indoors, rather than outdoors. Spending time outdoors have a range of health benefits. The exposure to sun gives us important vitamins for us to stay healthy, and it also gives children a chance to exercise which is one of the main aspects of a healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, smartphones are a form of technology that is now used for a long period of time in children ’s daily lives. This development happens because smartphones are an easy entertainment source for children. This trend of overusing smartphones can lead to some negative impacts to children ’s health.