Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purposes that university education serves. However, whether they should mainy provide job-related skills or pure knowledge to graduates has caused heated debate. My view is that practical skills should be the maib focus of universities. First, it is clear that for most students, the purpose of receiving university education is to obtain specific knowledge and skills, which is enable them to become qualified employees in the future job market. This is because most of them, after graduation, will enter the workplace, earn their living, and raise their own families. So, universities, as service providers, have to give top priority to these customers' real needs. Moreover, focusing on the job-related skills can benefit the university itself. For example, the science fiction blockbuster " Avartar " has marked a milestone in the filmmaking industry and sparked massive interest in 3-D technology. If a university can quickly respond and consolidate teaching resources to offer courses regarding 3-D, not only will its graduates be more competitive in the near future, but the university itself will keep pace with the modern technological development and move forward. That is not to say that universities should not pay any attention to pure scientific research. There are, of course, students interested in theoretical knowledge such as math and philosophy, and they will later become scientists and scholars who will make greater contributions to our society. But unfortunately, these people are few. In sum, the major function of universities should be providing students with job- related skills, guaranteeing high rate of employment, and thus making the society function well. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can universities maintain dynamic and sustainable development.