The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In almost every election in democratic countries, shortening working hours has always been an essential topic. From my perspective, it is totally understandable for workers to appeal for more holidays, while this has to be confined to a certain range otherwise the whole welfare of society will be undermined. For workers, the theories represented by Marxism criticising the exploitation of capitalism have raised their awareness of rebelling against alienation and individual freedom. Nobody wants to be the miserable worker portrayed in Modern Times who was exhausted by constant labour, but without the employer's permission, he had no choice but to continue to work by overdrawing his health. It is against this kind of exploitation, there have been many protests, and strikes organised by labour unions. Seen from this aspect, I support those workers who appealing for more holidays. Nevertheless, what has usually been overlooked by these employees is that the welfare they are striving for is largely dependent on productivity and working hours, thereby when productivity has not seen essential growth, the decrease of working hours can actually lower the whole standard of the society. One compelling example is Argentina, where the government blindly promised to reduce working hours to woo more voters without considering actual domestic productivity. As a result of this recklessness, over 30% of labour resources in the country suffered from unemployment in the last century, which, was a hard "holiday". Therefore, I do not agree with the claim that in terms of holidays, more is good. To summarise, workers have every reason to strive for more holidays as this is their inherent right. Nonetheless, they have to be aware that excessive holidays ultimately impair their own long-term welfare and thereby should know when to stop.