With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Digital books become popular, meanwhile, physical books face a downturn in demand. Some argue that this is a good sign for the future while others believe otherwise. The rising popularity of e- books allows people to easily find the one that they want and the flexibility to read them everywhere. Conversely, the printing industries will be affected by the lower number of orders and offline bookstores will face difficulty in selling their collections. On the one hand, the growing popularity of digital books allows people to obtain them from online platforms, providing convenience. Bookstores start to sell ebooks on the internet and this enables individuals to buy them just by clicking the checkout button on the websites. It serves convenience and they can access the books instantly after paying the invoice. In addition, when someone has digital versions of the books, they can read them everywhere without having to bring physical ones. They can access the ebooks through their gadgets. For instance, during commuting hours, people read books from iPads which is practical because they do not have to bring additional items into their bags. However, the emergence of digital books threatens printing companies because of the lower demand from the publishers. Nowadays, many publishers also directly offer their ebooks to the customer and they deliberately lower their printed books. This situation causes income losses to the printing industries. Moreover, physical bookshops witness a problem in selling their stocks. These days, the number of customers start to decline significantly. The last resort is they opt to discount the price in order to deplete their stocks. They hardly make profits through this situation. For instance, Toga Mas held book fairs in many cities in Indonesia, in order to jack up their sales because of the low customers’ purchasing interest. In conclusion, the rising trend for digital version books provides benefits such as convenience in buying books and bringing them anywhere because they can access them through gadgets. Nonetheless, this trend harms the sustainability of the printing companies and the physical bookshops due to the slowing demand.