Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

During the meaningful educational experience, I understand that the impact of the virus is enormous to the world. The economic impact during a pandemic is an issue that not just the country but every individual. The key to the right lock is important as time and finances are crucial to the government. The fiscal and monetary policies must be in place in order to help the local economy. Firstly, export will be affected as workers and companies cannot export their products, it will definitely lower the aggregate demand and therefore decline the national income. For example, South African shoe manufacturers will not be able to export their products even if they lower their price level as ports are not open for shipping. Furthermore, countries that depend on tourism will be badly affected, for instance, Maldives. Airlines were not open and countries will have regulations to stop travelling from countries with a pandemic. Domestic and international Investment will not grow as the pandemic will affect the countries with a pandemic. Economic growth is accompanied by changes in the structure of the economy. When there is a disease outbreak, new firms will not have opportunities to establish themselves, as banks will not be able to loan them money. Moreover, banks may face a crisis, for example, the US banks had given large numbers of mortgages to low-income households on deals that fixed low repayments for a few years. During the pandemic, many would not be able to afford the repayments and banks may be bundling mortgages together and sell packages of mortgages to other banks or investors. Market failure in the labour market will also deepen the crisis. For example, NHS has a deepening shortage of nurses. This means that hospitals face shortage of manpower, when the pandemic strikes, medical teams may not be able to handle all the patients and cause increase of death rate and wosen the economy. Therefore, govenment should seriously build more nursing schools and financial support prospective nurse students to mitigate pandemic effects. Moreover, the government needs to spend more money to combat the virus such as temporary medical stations, medications and research to solve the epidemic. This even worsens the government’s budget and may even create a deficit. Therefore, the government may need to increase the money supply in order to cope with the economic challenges. Such as the United States of America, quantitative easing may increase the money supply and help the economy in the short run. I also learned that country like Singapore, fiscal policy to subsidy citizens with monetary terms is helping them to withstand the pandemic in the short term. As such, unwinding the monetary stimulus will not be possible as the pandemic may be a long-term issue. I acknowledge that it is very important to rely on my own knowledge and express my thoughts from the fundamentals I learned during the lectures. Without much attention in class, I may not be able to fulfil the discussion. As I was a timid and shy girl, open discussion was not my cup of tea. However, through the journey, I now understand that expressing my thoughts is becoming a rewarding experience. I may use such skills in the future when in my career days.