Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A great number of meal and beverage products include a great level of sugar and it leads to plenty of medical issues. Despite this fact, I am inclined to believe that an increase in sugar's cost would conflict with humans' rights because they have to pay more than its worth and it is redundant. First of all, there are other things that are more harmful than sugar, such as alcohol or cigarettes. Compared to medical issues related to cigarettes, sugar is negligible. If they feel like there should be a price regulation according to the level of harmless, sugar probably would be at last. Moreover, from my point of view, a regulation like that is not appropriate. People have right to buy things more cheaply. There are people who barely afford their food and it would be unfair to them. Humans should put a limitation on themselves and it should be up to their own conscience. If governments want to stop overusing, they may start projects so as to raise awareness and thus, people would realise. For example, If I were president, I would not increase alcohol prices, I would start campaigns for people who are addicted. On the other hand, sugar may cause medical issues but it is related to its amount. The human body also needs it per day in order to make ATP (an energy unit). Without it, our brains would not work or we would be unconscious. Every reaction, muscle movement, brain activity or even breathing are associated with ATPs. What I mean is it has both pros and cons. It depends on human beings to consume enough to run their body system. For instance, lack of vitamin D causes bone diseases but overusing it may also cause liver diseases. It is all about taking everything not less and also not much. To sum up, sugar should not be more expensive, it should be preference to how much use it and it is not only detrimental, it has also benefits.