Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All leveld of education, from primary school to tertiary education, should be free. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Public concern regarding the requirement of implementing a zero tuition fee for all stages and backgrounds is increasingly topical since some individuals argue that it must be accessible for all people. In response to this aforementioned issue, I thoroughly disagree with this proposed perspective in order to implement free education owing to infeasibility and lack of eagerness. Firstly, it is obvious that government’s responsibility to provide free cost for schools so students can get free access of all facilities, especially for the needy which have the low probability to learn materials. However, this argument is misleading since there are many sholarships offering to handle learning cost for the poor pupils. In addition, the practice is not feasible since the government have a budget constraint to accommodate all sholars by providing several posts for medical, environmental, and social purposes. Furthermore, the cost of facilities, teachers’ salaries, and accommodations, which can support learning activities, require a huge fund. Thus, the country still need supports from the parents to pay educational expenditure for their children. Secondly, cost-free for participating in learning programs contributes lack of students’ encourageness encouragement to study materials. This is because scholars feel that there is no loss in their budgets to get profound explanation from their teachers. Therefore, it leads to decrease their focus on studying and take subjects unseriously. Taking Jember as one example, a research conducted by McKinsey in 2008 reported that some districts, namely Jember, Situbondo, and Bondowoso, applying zero tuition fees for all levels experienced only 78% of pupils attending in the classes. This number was less than educational institutions which require money from their parents by contributing 97% of attendence. To sum up, applying cost-free for educational purposes was a bad decision as it leads countries to face difficulties because of unreliability and less encourageness for students.