Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

In recent decades, many researchers have studied the importance of group -level cognition. Indeed, there is no convincing evidence that group activities improve the intelligence of individuals. This essay will examine how research in team games and study groups supports this view. To begin with, team games require individuals to perform a diverse range of rapid mental calculations. This is because players in a sporting context must predict and anticipate possible actions within tight time constraints. For example, a recent Cambridge study showed that soccer players could – within seconds – calculate over a dozen different permutations that could result from a single soccer-related action. Such predictive powers improve players' mental abilities and result from activities performed in a group context. Secondly, study groups enable individuals to obtain information they could not acquire in isolation. This is because peer feedback allows individuals to refine their understanding of concepts and learn new information from other study group members. For example, a study by The British Institute for Learning found that if individuals participated in study groups, they had a far more objective and sophisticated understanding of a topic than learners not in study groups. Therefore, it is undoubtedly the case that learning in a group improves an individual's mental abilities. In conclusion, group activities improve intellectual abilities. In the future, we will see schools take more significant measures to ensure that more group -level cognition occurs in the classroom.