Some people believe that success in life depends on hard work and determination, while others believe that other factors like money and personal appearance are important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that success can be achieved by hard work and determination, whereas others say that money and good looks can lead to success. This essay will discuss both these views. I personally believe that more often success comes from hard work and perseverance and only on some odd occasion money and looks can play a role. The main reason why some people say that determination and hard work is an important prerequisite for success, is that determination gives people an impetus of setting up goals, which lead to success. For example, Marie Curie (Madame Curie) determined to finish her husband’s lifetime unfinished work after his death and eventually discovered radium. Similarly, hard work is also very important as without hard work determination is of no value. It has been well said that ‘Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent, perspiration’. Take the example of businessmen. Only those succeed who have determination and who put in a lot of sweat and toil in their business. Those who advocate that money and good looks are needed for success, believe that good looks increase the confidence of a person and a confident person has more chances to succeed in his life. With good looks a person can succeed in the acting and modelling fields. They also opine that money is needed to become an entrepreneur and those who have the capital to invest have more chances to succeed. For example, a person with lots of bank balance may sustain through any ups and downs in business and finally succeed, but any person without any financial backing may break down if his business goes through a bad phase. To sum up, I believe that success depends on how firmly people hold on to their determination and how much effort they put into their work. A powerful background of money as well as attractive looks can help a certain number of persons to succeed, but too much reliance on these is unpractical.