Some people say the most important thing about being rich is that it gives you the opportunity to give back or help the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed by some that the best thing about being affluent is having a chance to help the needy. While one benefit of being rich is that they can help the impoverished, there are many other advantages of being rich, which are perhaps more important. Admittedly, the richer a person is, the more taxes he pays and that tax money is used by the government to provide for the impoverished. The tax collected by the government could be used for providing education and job training. The rich can also become entrepreneurs and create jobs for many who are unemployed. In all these aspects, it can be said that the rich can contribute a lot in helping the poor. However, the comfortable lives led by the rich holds much more value than just the ability to do something for the have-nots. The wealthy don’t have to yearn for the basic necessities of life and can also enjoy all the luxuries like cars, air conditioners and other household gadgets without having to worry for their running costs. They can also provide the best education to their children, and can also get the best health care for themselves and their families. Furthermore, the rich enjoy a status in society that only money can bring. People look upon them for their guidance and support in times of need. Finally, wealth provides security in adverse circumstances. For example, in Covid 19 pandemic, the rich could sail through comfortably sitting at home, whereas the poor had to struggle for their daily bread and butter. To sum up, if one is rich, he is in a better situation to help others who need money and all the things which money can provide. However, other things such as a luxurious lifestyle, status in society and security in adverse circumstances are more important than the ability to help the poor.