Many people use social media every day to get in touch with others and news events. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Appearing of social media had a tremendous impact on contemporary life, a vast amount of individuals use them every day for communication and receiving new information. While it has plenty of benefits such as possibility of finding like-minded people, who share your interests, and receiving news in real-time, we should take into account some drawbacks such as scrolling addiction and fake news. Firstly, the social network is a great place to meet new friends with shared hobbies, which might be hard to do in offline life. You can join a community that is built around any activity that you are interested in. For example, I have recently joined a gluten-free backing community where I met nice people from different countries who shared their recipes and experiences. Furthermore, online media provide you with convenient way to get news almost immediately as data is shared live. Contrarily, overusing social media can lead to unfavourable consequences such as scrolling addiction, depression, or anxiety. Continued checking of the news feed can be dangerous for mental health, as has been well-established in the scientific literature, individuals may develop addiction to get information online, which results in a lack of concentration and a depressed state in real life, which is not that colourful. Moreover, reading news only from social media can be harmful, as it does not get through the appoval and deep fact-checking and, in many cases, can be fake. In conclusion, social media has become an important part of our lives that serves us to be in touch with close ones and receive actual information. Considering the described above, I believe that the benefits from the possibility of finding friends and interesting people overweight the drawbacks of developing addiction or meeting fake news.