Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The life of the majority of the communities runs by the rules, which allow them to keep functioning. In contrast, the idea of the free will for each one may be detrimental for the society at large. I completely agree with this statement and want to discover some aspects in this essay. First of all, one of the ultimate goals for society is to provide a fair, beneficial, and safe life for the majority of the participants. Thus it is necessary to establish such an environment where not only the strongest and the smartest can have access to all treasures, as it is in the animal world. Rules and obligations can provide even rights and support less fortunate individuals. For instance, property laws can prevent situations when someone strong or powerful can evict a single mom with two children from their own house. Furthermore, laws can dramatically reduce violence and crime and make the community a safe place. If each individual can do anything they want without the sense of the inevitable punishment, this community may quickly reduce in number, become dysfunctional, or even disappear as some people would use force against each other or even commit murders. The examples can be found in poor criminal areas, where the ultimate goal for any average individual is to stay alive and leave this area as quickly as possible. In conclusion, most of the modern societies are using a set of rules to be functional. If everyone is permitted to act as they want it may lead to disaster and the disappearing of this community. I believe it is crucial to follow laws to live in a prospering society.