In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of aging population

In the world countries with sufficient means have an increasing number of older people and it is problematic for both individuals and society. In this essay, we will explore the underline causes of this problem and propose practical and effective solutions. The first problem associated with an increased number of elder people is the payment of retirement money, which puts heavy taxes on other citizens. Another problem stemming from a large number of older people population is medical care costs, because diseases increase more rapidly at a later age. For instance, American research shows that 95% of diseases occur in older people and their cost is double for medical care as compared to the younger generation. Thus, a surge in older population has adverse effects on both individuals and society. Some possible solutions to this problem are to increase the working time for people and encourage healthy lifestyle habits. When individuals’ retirement is delayed, they can serve the country, and in this way pension burden will be less and it also enhances the self-esteem of older people. Moreover, if we promote healthy lifestyle in people then the chances of being ill will decrease and money can be saved which used for medical care. This way, we can solve the problem of more elder people population in developed countries. To conclude, the increased population has problems like heavy taxes and medical care costs. However, if the government takes proper measures like increasing the working period and promoting a healthy lifestyle this issue can be handled successfully.