Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are growing beliefs that spaces for graffiti should be allowed by the government while others argue that it should be forbidden in cities. Some citizens believe that graffiti can make the city look dirty and community belief in the criminal records involved will add to the claims; however, I stand on the same side as those who allow graffiti space for creativity and the government supports to make regulations about the locations. On the one hand, it could be argued that many people do not like their cities look dirty with certain murals and artworks. Graffiti is often seen in several places and can have several disturbing pictures on wall areas, buildings and public spaces. Additionally, most people believe that graffiti is related to the people that have crime records, thus it will have negative views on the community. To illustrate, in Memphis, one of the cities in the US, there is a lot of graffiti on every corner of the suburban area, that city is also popular with a high crime rate that indicates very dangerous city in the US. On the other hand, advocates the views that claim to allow space for graffiti as a support people’s creativity. Moreover, the young generation likes to explore and express themselves with art on the murals and artworks on the wall, hence the support will make them confident and have a continuously spirit to learn. Furthermore, the government should regulate certain locations and places as official support for the artist to draw and paint their concepts of artworks. The legal structures from the government and the supporting environment from the community will gain trust that graffiti can make the city look beautiful and iconic. For instance, Haji Lane Street, Singapura, a popular area with iconic murals around the streets can attract many international tourists to enjoy and take photographs of the arts. In conclusion, I stand with the notion of allowing some spaces in the city to have graffiti as a part of the way to express arts for artists with the support from the government to regulate the art locations area.