In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary forgovernments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disgaree with this opinion ?

There are some countries where more and more people are facing health problems due to bad diets, such as fast food. It is believed that the government must interfere by applying a higher tax on this sort of food. I agree with this idea because fast food is very cheap compared to healthy food, and imposing a higher tax on this type of meal is an effective way to encourage healthy eating. Undoubtedly, the price of food is a strong driver of eating decisions. In general, fast food is cheaper than any other kind of meal, and some people prefer unhealthy diets because of these costs. In addition, as the name indicates, this kind of food is faster to order, make, and eat. On the other hand, good and variable foods are more difficult to find, more expensive, and take time to prepare. For example, in my country, a sandwich in a fast food chain restaurant costs about 5 dollars, while a main course containing rice, beans, vegetables, and animal protein costs at least 10 dollars, which means double. However, only raising the tax on unhealthy food is not enough to change food habits. It would create a serious problem for poor people to get food. It is necessary to reduce the tax on fresh and natural food. Besides, the markets and restaurants should be motivated to provide organic food instead of fast food. To sum up, I believe that public authorities must estimate the number of people eating better, whether by increasing taxes on harmful foods or decreasing taxes and costs of good meals because habits of eating have a reflection on public health systems.