Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

Nowadays, people do not spend their free time doing recreation like hiking and climbing in nature. The primary reason for this is that technology is developing so that outdoor activities are getting more expensive, but the government can take some measures in order to encourage young people to spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor diversions. In contemporary society, technology is increasing day by day, and everyone is almost addicted to their smartphones, so many youngsters prefer to spend their holidays at home by watching films, playing games, and others. Moreover, as technology rises, recreational activities become more modern and well-equipped, so the price for them also increases, but not everyone can afford such an expensive holiday, so they choose to stay at home. For example, research in Australia shows that outdoor activity prices get up by almost 20 per cent as newly developed equipment requires more energy as well as more money, so people attending outdoor activities reduced by almost 35 per cent as they just spent their time at home playing with telephones. Thus, as technology increases, fewer and fewer people are going there because they want to save money. The government can make rules against raising the price of outdoor activities so more people will go there and enjoy their diversion without worrying about money. By enforcing these rules strictly, they can achieve some goals. In addition, facilities can offer deals, like if people go hiking twice, the third can be for free. For instance, New Zealand in 2021 had rules against raising the price of outdoor activities, and they offered some deals, so the number of people going there increased significantly. By setting clear rules and deals, we can encourage people to spend their weekends doing outdoor activities. In conclusion, people really enjoy spending their time hiking and climbing, but the high fence is stopping them from going there. But with strong regulations and enforcement,we can increase the number of people going there.