Cultures around the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

As humanity continues to progress in terms of technology, ideas, travel, and communication, it is observed that cultures in different places are gradually becoming similar. This is attributed to the influence of social media, from highly developed countries to underdeveloped ones. The merging of cultures is a negative trend because it takes away cultural diversity. To begin, one of the driving causes of cultural similarity is the huge influence of the internet. As access to social media in different countries increases, people from all nations can gain knowledge and form new ideas. This information interchange results in the acceptance and integration of cultural practices, norms, and values. Furthermore, social media allows people to voice their thoughts, learn knowledge, and socialise, which improves cultural exchange and assimilation. For instance, TikTok has gained a larger audience, spanning over 160 countries and 1.1 billion users. On this platform, influencers and famous creators start trends relating to the arts, new slang and terms, and behaviours among younger generations.   The second reason why traditions are becoming closer is because some poorer nations imitate richer ones. They strive to achieve the same economic position by adopting and learning from their technologies and practices. Poor countries do this by importing technology, machinery, and equipment from wealthy countries. They may also send their citizens abroad to learn and obtain skills through education and training programmes in wealthier nations. Furthermore, impoverished countries may form allies and collaborate with affluent countries to improve knowledge transfer and exchange. Thus leading to more indistinctiveness between countries. This is a negative development because there will be less and less uniqueness between cultures, which will result in a decrease in tourism and hence a financial issue. If every country shares the same traditions, there will be nothing that distinguishes it from other countries. This will lead to a decline in tourists since there are no attractions. Tourism in a lot of countries, such as Macau or the Maldives, is a big source of income; therefore, they will suffer significant economic losses if there were no tourism.   In essence, various cultures are rapidly becoming more similar. This is due to the influence of social media and the transfer of wealth from developed to developing countries. Culture blending is a harmful tendency since it reduces cultural diversity.