In recent years, people in many countries have been able to afford more material possessions such as electronic kitchen appliances, computers and vehicles. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this increased level of affluence, and give your opinion about whether this is a positive or negative development.

People in many countries have been able to afford more material possessions in recent years, such as electronic kitchen appliances, computers, and vehicles. Some people believe that this is an advantage because it helps people lead an easier life, whereas others believe otherwise. Even though these advancements can produce more methane and fossil fuel consumption, I believe that it is an advantage because it brings people an easier life, less amount of chores, safety, and easier communication techniques. Arguably, the use of material possessions such as vehicles can emit significantly more greenhouse gasses and require the use of fossil fuels, which are a limited resource. This is due to the fact that this improvement necessitates the use of gas. Cars, buses, and vans emit methane, which contributes to global warming. More people driving their own cars can hasten climate change and have a negative impact on the Earth. Having said that, the use of improvements brings many benefits and assurances of safety to civilians' daily lives. People can now save a lot of time and have fewer chores to do with electronic kitchen appliances. For example, instead of washing dishes by hand, people can use a dishwasher, which takes much less time and is twice as convenient. Civilians no longer have to rely on buses or public transportation, which saves money and is more convenient. It also ensures safety in the face of the ongoing pandemic that is occuring around the globe. Computers can also help with safety, and computers and electronic devices can help with communication. Instead of meeting in person, people can communicate via online meetings and calls, which eliminates the need for them to go outside and risk becoming ill as a result of the pandemic while still communicating with others. In brief, more people being able to afford more advancements such as electronic kitchen appliances, computers and vehicles can bring disadvantages such as more methane released and use of fossil fuel. However, they can also bring a lot of advantages such as a more convenient lifestyle, saving time, and a higher guarantee of safety.