In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universuty studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Many students around the world have the opinion that working or travelling a year before starting academic study is a good option. This essay will discuss the experience gained and how saving money are the biggest advantages, however, reducing motivation to study and delaying careers are the main disadvantages. The main positive side of a gap year is a good opportunity to learn about the world and to try to earn money for the future life. Hence, young people are more free and responsible by themselves. However, in many countries studying at university is expensive and people who just finished secondary school actually don`t have financial independence. For instance, In the USA academic programs cost approximately 10 000 $ per semester and many students drop off, because they cannot afford to stay. The negative effect of a break year is many students lose their motivation to study and re-adapt to academic life after freelance pretty difficult. As a result, a lot of people nowadays do not have an academic diploma and they do not have enough qualifications to increase their careers as a professional. For instance, in the USA the majority of people don`t have the qualification to apply for a job, as a result, they work as general workers and have limited opportunities to live. In conclusion, in some countries, young people think the gap year between school and university good chance to work and travel. If to the learn about the world and financial independence are the beneficial effects, losing time, when they have enough energy to study at university is a negative effect.