Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

It is a common belief that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than in high school. However, there is a more persuasive argument that children should not learn a foreign language from a young age. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts, will be highlighted in the write-up. On the one hand, learning a foreign language brings two main benefits to children. First of all, young ones have more absorption abilities than the others. This is because a lot of reports have shown that children ages 4-8 have a higher ability to study another language but their mother tongue. As a consequence, it will help them to learn more than one or two foreign languages which is good for their future. Another advantage of learning a foreign language is that they can communicate with others who come from exotic countries. In other words, the more languages they can learn, the more cultures they can learn about. For instance, when children travel to a foreign country, they are more likely to make local friends if they can speak the local languages. Nevertheless, the disadvantages of children learning foreign languages in early school cannot be ignored. To begin with, children may gain extra pressure in their school life. This is because there are more important subjects in school they should focus on. For example, doing maths is most students' nightmares, they have to put more effort into finishing that with much study time. Moreover, learning a foreign language is not a necessary lesson for many children. This is because not many families can afford the money to put a child to learn other languages. For example, in many countries, parents cannot even pay the basic education fee for their children. In conclusion, although many believe that children should learn a foreign language in their primary school because they can absorb the language as soon as they can, in addition, they are more likely to go out into the world and make more friends. However, I still think that it is not a parent's responsibility to improve their children to learn an unnecessary language or subject, they could learn it when they have the ability.