In some countries, children are often told that, they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In certain cultures, children are often advised that they are able to accomplish anything through hard work. This essay will suggest that, building self-confidence and increasing the creativity of individuals are the biggest advantages of this while setting up unrealistic goals and increasing anxiety and stress appear to be the preliminary disadvantages. It is mandatory to often motivate children by saying anything is achievable unless they do hard work because it improves their confidence. Children will find various pathways to accomplish their goals, thereby, they eventually improve their creativity, as a consequence, they gradually alleviate the fear of taking risks and facing challenges in their lives. So that, children become strong and independent individuals who are good at critical thinking and other soft skills. For example, a survey conducted by the University of California revealed that, the children who were taught that anything is possible if practice hard, showed a greater potential to complete the tasks, that they were assigned to do than other participants. However, there are certain disadvantages also associated with this statement. The majority of people at present seem to told their children to do some unrealistic tasks. They often convince their children that they can achieve any goal through hard work. But on some occasions, this may be toxic to children ’s minds and causes build up huge pressure on them. As a result of that, children will undergo stress, anxiety and unnecessary competition and be totally exhausted by the heavy workload. Ultimately, this will reduce the productivity of children and they might feel disappointment and frustration. For instance, it has been scientifically proven that, a higher level of depression associated with reduced concentration and eventually causes less productivity of pupils. In conclusion, making positive mind set by teaching them nothing is impossible through hard work is an essential component for their cognitive development. And also it is aimed at improving their self-confidence and creativity. On the other hand, allowing children to pursue some unachievable goals is not good for both their physical and mental well-being because it puts unnecessary pressure on them.