Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a popular trend that some high school youngsters prefer taking a gap year before entering college, for travelling abroad or taking a paid job. This essay aims to investigate these perspectives, and my point of view is that despite the potential drawbacks, it has brought many benefits for young individuals. It is evident that opting for a gap year is tremendously beneficial for students, as it is a predominant opportunity to develop their abilities which could not be learned from the classroom. For instance, if students would volunteer with a charity or take a paid corporate internship, it enhances their social skills, ranging from interpersonal skills to critical thinking skills by interacting and communicating with their colleagues, so it enriches their life experiences. Moreover, having a gap year break is imperative for students to learn independence. Since some young adults choose to visit overseas during the break, they learn how to live alone and tackle the problems without their parents’ protection. As a result, students have attempted to take care of themselves and this experience should be learned outside the school. However, some argue that taking a gap year has brought potential risk for the youngsters because of the financial reason. It is undoubted that if students visit to foreign countries for their gap year,, it probably leads to creating a financial crisis due to the unexpected living and travel expenses. Besides, young adults may waste their valuable time, given that they lack a systematic plan for the holidays and just play without objective, hence time cannot be effectively used. All in all, some youngsters take a year break between graduating secondary school and going to tertiary education for travelling and working purposes. From my point of view, even though students may waste time on this experience, it seems that they would learn different kinds of abilities for preparing their next education.