Some universities deduct students’ marks if work is given late. What is your opinion and recommend some alternative actions for this problem?

Nowadays, there are consequences for college students who submit their assignments past the due date which is reducing their assignment scores. I agree with this system of marking, therefore this essay will further explain the reason and some alternative plans that could be applied to this problem. The reason why I agree with that kind of grading system is because it can teach students about responsibility. As individuals who are going through a transition from their teenage selves to becoming adults, it is essential for them to learn to be responsible in managing their own lives, including their studies. One of the effective ways to teach about responsibility is by giving them a consequence for their own actions, such as deducting their homework's score if it is given late. Knowing how the outcome of their actions can lead to a situation that disadvantages them will help them to learn from it and avoid the same mistake in the future. Although, at first it only affects the way they behave towards their college life, eventually it will also encourage them to not do something that is deemed irresponsible in many aspects of their life. However, there are also some circumstances where this grading rule might not be applicable and become unfair. For example, what if the student is not in a good condition to finish their homework right on time due to an illness, then this punishment might seem unfair through the eyes of the student. Therefore, the right possible way to deal with this problem is for the University to be flexible about its rules. It is best if they inform their students in the first year about the marking system as well as about some excused conditions that can accommodate the students ' rights to get the grades that are suitable for their efforts. Of course, it can also be inappropriately used by some irresponsible students but to deal with it the University can set a ground agreement where the students need to do a follow-up first and give the needed proof if they are not in a good condition to finish their work on schedule. To sum up, the rules that are set by the University may have a lot of benefits, not only for them but also for the students. Even so, it's also important to create a set of rules that come from both sides' agreements so that the rules can be applied fairly.