Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in?

It is believed that we live at the pinnacle of human progress. I completely agree with this. However, I think that the Renaissance would be a really interesting period in human history to live in. In this essay, I am going to prove my point of view. We have achieved a high level of development in various areas such as medicine, construction, transportation and so on. For example, many general citizens work in convenient offices with heating and air conditioning. Nonetheless, there are plenty of contemporary trends, which make our society more passive than before. Whereas some people invest in increasing standards of living, many others waste their free time on social media or playing computer games. On the contrary, before the Renaissance, life was dangerous and unpredictable. Many individuals started their work in the early morning and finished close to bedtime. Moreover, it was highly likely to be called to war or die from an unknown illness. Even when they survived these perils, they lived very difficult lives. After those dark times, great advances were made in mathematics, chemistry, biology and science among others. Furthermore, numerous remarkable masterpieces were created during this period and lifted humanity to an unprecedented level. For instance, we still admire their architecture. To conclude, although these days have their merits, if I could select a period when I would be alive, I would choose the Renaissance. This is because it was a time of rapid growth flourishing in many directions, which we can still see today.