The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary society, science and technology penetrates in people’s daily life in many aspects, bringing both convenience and consequence. Especially, health care industry has seen great improvement in saving and curing lives as technology contributes a great deal. Hence many people hold the view that scientific researches should target at lifting people’s well-being at the greatest extent. However, I am not convinced that such statement is valid. Firstly, scientific development should be utilized in a balanced way as prolonging life expectancy is not the sole sector that technology is able to showcase its ability. For instance, driverless cars are considered as one of the smartest inventions which can free those who are behind the wheels. And it may not be achieved by AI, which get it done based on a plethora of data and analysis. What’s more, AI is also able to sort out the best routes for drivers, especially during rush hours and alert drivers what may lie ahead given some emergencies may occur such as car crashes or road collapses. Therefore, technology should be applied to other fields in order to make individual’s life better. Secondly, if fund and resources are poured in science in order to improve people’s lives as priority, it may be detrimental to the state. Since national defense, the military strength which a nation promotes to shelter its people, also plays a critical role. With the rapid expansion of digital warfare, many developed countries have reached their hands in cyber war. That means a left-behind country in terms of military defense is doomed to be beaten by other hostile regimes who strive to be a war machine. Consequentially, the people may suffer considering that if the authorities put the largest efforts in improving people’s lives. In conclusion, my personal view is that technology may bring many benefits in governing a country and efforts should not be injected in people’s welfare to the greatest extent.