Experts claim that learning a new language is much easier for children than adults. Why do some people hold this view? What solutions are there to make language learning easier for adults

Children learning a new language, other than their native tongue, at an earlier age is much easier and essentially faster compared to when trying to learn and retain as an adult. This essay will discuss the problems faced whilst learning a new language as an adult, and how we can overcome this ideology. On one hand, the problem that adults face is that compared to a child learning a language is often like a clear canvas, making it easy to retain the information, however adults often have a lot on their minds, making it difficult to learn efficiently. The result of this problem is that children are often compared to sponges, meaning they can consume the information, whereas adults make it much more difficult for themselves, often leading them to overthink and consequently panic. Due to the fact that adults may have a lot going on, it is essential to overcome this problem by providing the information in a organised manner. For instance, if a timetable is provided, stating what to learn and when, could be extremely beneficial. This is because a schedule can help them organise their thoughts and allow them to have a structured understanding which adults appreciate. Ultimately, this is a great solution to the problem as this is similar to many careers, where jobs are structured, this will allow people to resonate allowing them to learn a language much easier. Although young people may find it more efficient to learn a new language as they can understand and retain information effortlessly, adults also learn languages but using a different method which involves effort and organisation. In conclusion, it is never too late to learn a language, but everyone has a different method of studying.