Should government fund public transport so as to be free for those who are using it? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some citizens believe that public transportation should be free of charge for the users, so that the State should fully cover its costs. From my perspective, this is a valuable point of view, as long as it could conceivably promote the use of this kind of transport, reducing the number of private cars circulating on the streets. First of all, if buses and trains were free, a larger number of people would utilize them. In fact, in some nations, for instance, Italy where I live, travelling on high-speed trains could be fast and comfortable, but sometimes it cannot be economically sustainable for some. If the ticket for using that trains was much less expensive, or even for free, many more citizens would travel by train instead of using their cars. Consequently, the traffic congestion generated by the enormous amount of private vehicles circulating on the streets would decrease. Furthermore, the lower the number of cars, the lower the gas emissions that are polluting the city air and this could be good news for all the inhabitants. For example, the particulate generated by the vehicles ' engines is recognized as dangerous for human health. On the other hand, incentivising the use of buses and trains by reducing their costs, could be detrimental to the quality of the service. As an example, if a large amount of money was spent to cover the ticket price, fewer funds could be designated for renovating the old vehicles or cleaning the existing ones. For this reason, public service should be monitored to remain of high quality. In a nutshell, I believe that reducing the ticket price of public vehicles could be a valid solution to promote their use and as a result decrease the city traffic. So, a good point in favour of enhancing public transportation is the decrement in air pollution. But it must be certain to maintain high the quality of the service.