International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries open their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of the increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last few decades, it has become less expensive to spend your vacation abroad and numerous countries have started inviting travelers from all over the world. This essay agrees that this phenomenon has far more benefits than drawbacks. One of the main positives of international tourism is that foreign travelers significantly contribute to the national income. It means that due to the development of tourism the local labor market and private business start proliferating. For example, the increased number of tourists tend to stimulate the appearance of new hotels, restaurants, and entertainment agencies, which creates additional workplaces and income. An additional reason to facilitate international tourism is that along with tourist infrastructure, other facilities usually undergo substantial reconstruction. For instance, owing to the growing number of Chinese tourists visiting Lenin’s hometown in Russia, local authorities have rebuilt major roads and begun to renovate city parks and ponds. It can be explained by the fact that the city budget gets replenished with additional profits, which are wisely allocated for the good of all the citizens and tourists. However, there are some drawbacks associated with travelling foreigners; one of them is the rising level of pollution and congestion. This is an inevitable outcome of tourism, as crowds of tourists roam around famous landmarks, bringing piles of garbage, producing more greenhouse gas emissions, and traffic jams. In conclusion, I would like to highlight that the merits of an increased tourist stream, in terms of boosting local economies and improving people’s lives prevail over the downsides such as the soaring quantity of litter. However, it is recommended to take additional actions for governments to employ extra maintenance workers, as well as to implement a system of fines for those who disregard ecology laws.