Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The human population continues to rise and fill the lands of our planet. Dealing with a housing crisis, some local governments from numerous big cities consider reassigning gardens for residential area to accommodate the growing need for a place to live. In my view, this is not the ideal solution as it will cause other social problems. Firstly, the aim of the development of gardens is to create green areas to cope with the city’s pollution. As toxic gases such as CO2 and Co are increased due to industrial waste and vehicle residues, people need a place where they can enjoy breathing the air without worrying of dirty air. Removing parks would make the town’s breathable area become smaller. As a consequence, people could obtain some diseases like respiratory problems as they inhale poor quality air. Secondly, destroying the city’s greenery would lead to the visual pollution. Gardens and parks are essential for people to have places to enjoy with their families. As they no longer exist, people would find it difficult to have recreational times from busting with their works. Over time, it can make people more stressed. To sum up, government’s step to rearrange gardens in the city is not the best option in order to solve housing issues. This would only lead to negative outcomes like diseases and poorer population’s mental health.