Nowadays more and more people read news on the Internet. Nevertheless, newspapers will remain an important source of news and information for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

This essay agrees that although a lot of people have shifted their way of reading news from the newspapers to the Internet, the newspapers will remain to be the major source of information. This is due to the fact that news on the Internet only covers the headlines of the stories, while on the other hand newspapers could lay out facts in more detailed manners compared to the news on the Internet. Most of the websites on the Internet only write their news as a summary since they need to limit their pages to keep people interested in reading it. When a news website has a quite long page, readers will be bored and tend to skip it. For instance, on the average, BBC News pages only have two to three pages of news because they want to keep their readers following their stories. On the contrary, newspapers have been a long-standing media for people to know what is going on in the world currently because it can bring out facts with detailed chronologies and not limited to pages as their word fonts are quite small. Moreover, newspapers’ readers are already used to handle a lot of pages when reading news, therefore, they are more comfortable reading the news in it. For example, USA Today’s newspapers ’ average pages per story could be up to 5 pages long and have not experienced any decreasing in buyers up to this time. To conclude, while nowadays the Internet has provided numerous websites for news, people are still relying on newspapers because they can fully cover the news with detailed facts and not just headlines and summaries.