Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued by individuals that person identity can be ascertained by choice of clothes they wear. In recent year western influence on clothes has made strong impression and people like to wear western clothes for daily use. This essay will disagree with the statement and present notions about why it is not possible to know culture and character from their choice of clothes. To begin with, western culture has made a strong impact on fashion across the world and dressing sense has changed a lot in last two decades. Shirts, trousers, jeans, and suits are commonly used by individuals across the globe. It has become difficult to identify what culture one has based on their attire. For example, In India during weddings and festivals one can identify culture of bride and groom based on their clothes. Character and cultures are no longer represented by clothes one is wearing. Furthermore, suitability to weather and easiness to wear western clothes has resulted in dwindling use of customary clothing. Conventional clothes are worn only on performing rituals or attending cultural events. It has resulted in culminating cultural differences as it is become difficult to identify Asians from European based on clothing. In today’s era, it is difficult to identify culture of an individual based on his or her attire. In conclusion, although few decades ago it was easier to represent culture by wearing ethnic dresses now it has become impossible to identify culture and character differences based on clothes one has put on.